Snowy Saturdays

Happy Saturday ya’ll!

2013-02-02 15.32.16

This is a picture from my bedroom window.  I know it doesn’t look like a lot of snow, but it has been snowing since last night.  And it’s supposed to continue to snow all day and night and all day tomorrow.  So, I figured it would be a good weekend to stay inside and sew!

I started working on my 2 inch #scappytripalong quilt.  I am kinda methodically in how I sew.  I use (and reuse) little zipper top baggies to put my blocks in.  So, before I even started to sew any strips together, I put together all my blocks individually in bags. That way, if I wanna just grab a few and do some, I don’t have everything laying out.  Anyway, all of that to say this, I made 5 blocks today.

2013-02-02 14.53.29

On my living room floor design wall

2013-02-02 14.53.44

A close up

My blocks are truly scrappy, but I am loving the way they are turning out.

I also found a recipe for homemade refried beans over at Sewfrench.  It is her friends recipe, which you can see her blog post about the recipe here.

I followed the recipe, with the exception that I added a whole jalapeno, not just a 1/2, and mine were done in like 4 hours, but my crock pot cooks fast.

2013-02-02 15.07.58

Pre-mash

2013-02-02 15.18.28

Post-mash

This made nine 1/2 cup servings.  I froze most of them individually.  They are delicious and so much more flavorful than store-bought.

Linking up to Confessions of a Fabric Addict, Crazy Mom Quilts and TGIFF!  I am counting my blocks that are finished as a finish, and my beans!

Keep Simply Delighting!

7 thoughts on “Snowy Saturdays

    • Hi Bert! How are you? Thanks for the compliment. I am not sure how big it’s going to end up being. I might use it for my bed, but who knows. I am having fun seeing the blocks come together!

    • Thanks Sara! I was browsing through your blog and think we have a lot in common! I would love to subscribe to your blog, but don’t see the option by email. Help?

  1. Your blocks look wonderful. Every time I see someone post about this pattern, I’m tempted to start making more of my own! It’s so much fun to see the diagonals appearing as the block is sewn together. Have fun sewing!

  2. Pingback: Staying in on a snowy Sunday | Simply Delighting

Leave a comment