Turkey Spinach Lasagna

turkey 001

Tonight for dinner, I made something I have never made before: turkey spinach lasagna.  I was a little leary of this new recipe that I found but put my own spin on.  BUT…it was incredible.  Creamy, rich, and healthy!

Here’s the recipe:

1 lb ground turkey

1 T olive oil

1 medium onion, minced

2 garlic cloves, minced

3 cups marinara sauce

1 1/2 cups ricotta cheese

1 10 ounce package of frozen spinach, thawed, drained well and chopped

1/4 cup parsley

2 egg whites

1/4 t salt and pepper

12 lasagna noodles, cooked

1/2 cup mozzarella cheese

1/4 cup parmesan cheese

Saute onion and garlic in olive oil in large sauce pan.  Add the turkey and brown.  When turkey is browned, add the marinara sauce and continue to simmer.  Cook lasagna noodles until done.  Mix in a large bowl spinach, ricotta, parmesan cheese, egg whites, parsley, salt and pepper until combined.  In a 13 x 9 inch baking dish, spray with non stick cooking spray and layer 3 noodles, half the ricotta mixture and then 1/3 of the marinara sauce mixture.  Add 3 more noodles, the rest of the ricotta and 1/3 of the marinara sauce.  Add 3 more noodles and the rest of the marinara.  Add 3 more noodles, and top with the mozzarella cheese.  Bake at 375 degrees for about 45 minutes to 1 hour.  Let sit for 5 minutes before cutting.  I cut mine into 12 pieces.  Also I added red pepper flakes to my marinara sauce for a little heat.

This is definitely a keeper!

Keep Simply Delighting!

2 thoughts on “Turkey Spinach Lasagna

Leave a comment