Simple Sundays!

I love Sundays.  It truly is my favorite day of the week.  Worship, family time, football, afternoon naps, time to do whatever you please…that’s what Sundays are for.

Today, among doing other things, I spent my Sunday doing several loads of laundry, running to the store, cutting some fabric (see tomorrow’s post), and making homemade vegetable soup for this week’s main meal.  It’s not what we had for dinner tonight, but it’s what’s for lunch and dinner at least a couple days this week.

2013-01-27 17.10.27

I forgot to take a picture of the soup, sorry.

I had lots and lots of frozen vegetables from my parents’ garden and my brother’s garden.  Also, I had several bags of frozen vegetables that I wanted to use up that were taking precious space in my freezer.   So…here’s the recipe:

Homemade Veggie Soup

3 14.5 oz cans of diced tomatoes (I put my kitchen shears inside the open can and chop them up more)

2 15 oz cans of tomato sauce

1 10,75 oz can of tomato soup

1 lb of ground sirloin, browned

2 cups frozen corn

2 cups frozen (or fresh) chopped carrots

2 cups of green beans

I also added 2 2/3 cups of frozen mixed veggies and 2 cups of frozen green beans I had just hanging out in the freezer open.

Various spices, such as Italian seasoning, minced onion, garlic powder and salt and pepper.

You can also add a couple peeled, diced potatoes, but I just forgot.

Keep Simply Delighting!

2 thoughts on “Simple Sundays!

  1. Your recipe is the same as my grandmother’s except she put in a tall can of V8 instead of the tomato soup. She taught me to make this soup back in the 70’s. She’s been gone for about 8 years, but every time I make it, she’s in my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

