I love hexagons!

For so long, I have been wanting to attempt a hexagon quilt.  I am not sure what about hexagons intrigue me…but they do.  So…last year when I ran into some charm packs on sale at Craftsy, I knew that it would be the right fabric for my hexagons!  2013-01-22 18.44.05

I just love this fabric!  It’s Curiosities by Nancy Halvorson for Benartex.  So…last night I decided to break out my hexi template and start cutting.

2013-01-22 18.43.53

At first, I thought “Oh wow, this is gonna take me forever.” And because I am a new quilter (sort of) I didn’t think that charm packs are probably not the best cut of fabric for hexagons.  But whatever.  I ended up cutting them in stacks….and I cut 4 charm packs (40 pieces each).

2013-01-22 18.10.10

I love this fabric!

2013-01-22 18.44.23

160 hexies cut!

And because I am crazy about not wasting anything, I saved the itty bitty scrap pieces.

2013-01-22 18.47.07

My friend Melissa, who I talked about in the great big friendship blog, and who is super creative herself, has agreed to make a ticker tape canvas for my bathroom.  I got the idea from Crazy Mom Quilts blog post, which you can see here.

Also, I have put together (finally) my list of UFOs, WIPs, and upcoming projects.

UFOs:

*Gabby’s quilt

*Mom’s star quilt

*My winterscape quilt

*Crazy Daisy quilt

*Americana quilt

WIPs:

*Moda honey bun #scrappytripalong

*Regular size #scrappytripalong

*Hexagon quilt

*Ticker Tape canvas

*granny square afghan

Upcoming:

*Scrapper’s Delight from Sunday Morning Quilts (you can see it in this blog post)

*Postage Stamp quilt in pink/aqua/yellow

Linking up to Freshly Pieced.

Keep Simply Delighting!

10 thoughts on “I love hexagons!

  1. I need that hexie ruler! I made a hexie quilt last year and made a template and traced the shape onto the fabric and then cut them. TEDIOUS!
    I’ve made quite a few hand pieced hexie projects, but machine piecing a twin size quilt was really fun! Good luck!

    • I ordered it off of Amazon. It was like $10 or something. And it came with maybe 6 or 7 more templates too. This is the first time I have ever used it and I love it.

  2. Love your hexies. Way back in 1999 I thought I would be brilliant and make a millenium quilt- English paper piece 2000 hexagons by hand. I think I got about 200 finished. Now I am looking for scrappy ways to use what I have done because what I made was a big long strip.

  3. Hexagons are so fun and addictive – I’ve gotten completely hooked and even just started a bee for Hexie only projects. Once you start, you won’t be able to stop 😉

  4. I am very impressed with your work that I wanted to let you know that I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award. You can get more information on my blog.

Leave a Reply

