Shortcake and more!!

I spent yesterday doing something  I love!  Quilting!  I originally thought I would be finishing my niece Brianna’s quilt so I can give it to her today at her sister’s baby shower, but the batting I had left was not big enough.  However, the batting was big enough to finish my Shortcake quilt!  As I shared before, this is a patter by Cluck Cluck Sew.  It is written for a jelly roll, but I used all scraps from my stash.  Every single piece of fabric was left over from another project….even the back pieces.  I am so proud of how it turned out and also how the quilting turned out.  I am very inexperienced with quilting and honestly it gives me fits.  It is definitely not on my list of favorite things to do (neither is basting), but I love the feeling of finishing a quilt.  So…without further ado, here is the finished picture:

The picture isn’t that great (I apologize) but I love it.  I just quilted simple X’s over the squares, and it turned out great.  I used the white fabric for binding and a fuchsia thread to quilt and it looks so sharp.  This week I will mail it to my Mom.

I also spent the evening working on a few little bibs for my niece Emily’s baby.  She found out this week she’s having a little girl, and I must say, this Great Auntie is very, very happy.  Emily is my sister’s daughter, and she and I have always been close.  It’s hard to believe she’s 25 and gonna be a Mommy.  She has her name picked out, but it’s not 100% set in stone, so I call her Baby J.  I have lots and lots of pink scraps in my stash and this is a perfect time to use them up.  So last night, I made Baby J some bibs:

And, I can’t wait to give them to her.  I will be taking them with me today to the Baby Shower for Baby Maxton! 

I also received a couple goodies (non fabric) in the mail this week.  I received a bobbin case to store my bobbins, and also a free motion quilting foot for my machine.  This is super exciting and I am really looking forward to practicing my skills.  I also ordered some hexagon templates!  That is really what I am sooo excited about, and honestly, I am holding myself back from starting a project them.  Here is the set I purchased:

I got all those templates for something like $15!!  I was can’t wait to cut into some fabric!!

This week my plan is to work more on some charm pack quilt tops waiting to be sewn together in my WIP box.  Also, I want to make some burp clothes for Baby J.  And this weekend, I will be finishing Brianna’s quilt.  Lots to do!!! 

Be Blessed today!

Keep Simply Delighting!!

“The unfolding of Your words gives light; it gives understanding to the simple.”  Psalm 119:130

3 thoughts on “Shortcake and more!!

    • Thank you! I love the way it turned out. This is only the 6th quilt I have actually quilted myself. My very first quilt I took to a long arm and loved the way it turned out, but really can’t afford to continue to have someone else quilt it. And so…I keep practicing. I am getting better little by little. 🙂

  1. Pingback: Getting Back in the Groove! | Simply Delighting

Leave a Reply

