Chicken Casserole and Shortcake

Happy Sunday!  Today was another day filled with sewing and trying to finish up some of the projects on my WIP list.  But first, I thought I’d share a recipe I made for dinner.  This is a quick one dish dinner that you can make on a week night or make to use up leftover chicken.

Chicken Casserole

First, I poached a whole chicken breast.  Mine was frozen, so it took a little longer.  I put the chicken in my soup pan with enough water to cover the chicken, added salt and pepper and 4 chicken bullion cubes.  I let it go until the chicken was done.  When it was done, I took the chicken out of the stock and let it cook so I could cut it up.  I chopped up the chicken added 4 cups of uncooked rice (2 cups of white instant rice and 2 cups of brown hard rice…hey you use what you got right?), 2 cans of cream of chicken soup, and about 4 1/2 cups of the chicken stock from poaching, strained.  I mixed it up until it was combined, put into my glass 13 x 9 inch pan, and baked it for about an hour at 375 degrees.  You can add mixed vegetables to it if you like. 

Yummy!!

Today I set out to get a lot done on my Shortcake Quilt.  I bought this pattern from Cluck, Cluck, Sew at the Fat Quarter Shop.  The pattern is written for a jelly roll, but I knew I could use some of my scrap stash.  It has 2 blocks and I was able to finish all of Block A:

Block B is a 9 patch block, so I had to cut the fabric for those blocks yet.  Patiently, I cut 252 2 1/2 inch square blocks.  I was able to at least sew the rows for the 3 block.  My plan is to pin them tonight.

Once the squares were cut, I just sewed them continuously, which makes it go much faster.

I also sewed the Sweet Shoppe and Calico Candies 2 patches into 4 patches today.  I am not quite sure what I am going to do with them to put them together, but I am at least that far.  I love this collection and can’t wait to play around with how to put this throw quilt all together.

Lastly, yesterday in the mail I received a couple of packages of goodies…3 charm packs…two that are Americana fabrics.  If you don’t know me, I LOVE AMERICANA ANYTHING!!!!!!  I am hoping to make the same quilt with these charm packs as I did for Chelsea, which I shared in my post Sewing Saturday.   My plan is to put the 9 patch blocks together in groups tonight. 

“Delight in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart.” Psalm 37:4

Keep Simply Delighting!

 

Leave a Reply

