Home Again

I am home! 

However, it was not a great homecoming.  Upon returning home, I found out that due to some major storms and wind, my electricity was off from 4:30 pm Thursday until 2:30 am Saturday (today).  So…I lost all and everything in my refrigerator.  Some things are ok, according to my Mom, who counseled me over the phone.  I love that woman.  For those of you that don’t know me, I am a person who freezes anything leftover.  In my freezer, among ground beef, chicken, and pork, I had homemade pizza crust, enough beef pot pie filling for one pie, half a pan of lasagna that was frozen for individual meals, a bag of tomatoes from my Dad’s garden last year, frozen jalepenos…the list goes on and on of great already prepared items. 

However, I am so thankful I wasn’t here…because it is still so unbearably hot.  Had I been here for over 30 hours of no electricity I would have gone crazy probably.  I am thankful that I was at my parents.  Also, I hate severe weather like thunderstorms, etc. 

One thing I know is that God always calms the storm, and if He doesn’t, He calms His children when the storm rages.  As I was unpacking there was a knock on my door from my postal carrier (God bless him!) with my fabrics from The Fabric Shoppe!  If you have never visited this great shop, go on over to Etsy (by clicking here) and visit Jody.  You can also visit her website/blog.  I couldn’t wait to open up the package!  The quilt I am making for each of the twins calls for 22 fat quarters.  Jody was kind enough to select them for me (which she did a fabulous job!!!).  They are adorable and I can’t wait to get started. 

I know it’s not a great photo, but here are the fat quarters for the quilt for Twin #1.  I am still hoping it’s a boy!

Soo…there’s the excitement for the day.  Thankful to be home and thankful for those in my life that love me and I love too.  Remember, you are blessed to be a blessing.  So…keep on blessing others.  I know I was blessed today. 

 

 

 

One thought on “Home Again

  1. Hi Maribeth,

    I completely understand about the freezer defrosting as I’m about to dive in to my overstocked one to find my dinner as well. I don’t know what I’d do without it.

    Like you I’m waiting on a delivery of fabric.. while a have a cupboard full of fabric, now that I’ve just finished a quilt it feels like there’s something missing (http://bertcollections.wordpress.com/2012/07/08/pk8-pirate-king-finds-a-new-home/). Luckily my package of fabric will hopefully arrive Down Under from the USA in the next week or so. I’ll just have to dream about my funky new fabrics until then.

    Bert

Leave a Reply

