A little of this, a little of that….

Happy Sunday!  As promised, I have so much to share!  This has been a very productive weekend!  I celebrated with my family my great-nephew Parker’s 1st birthday yesterday and had a great time.  Because that was most of the day yesterday, I wasn’t very productive.  But today!!  Today I have been super productive!  And it started with….

Homemade Waffles!!! 

The recipe is basic and very easy to make.  I found it online and decided to try it. 

1 3/4 cups flour

2 tablespoons sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

2 eggs

1 3/4 cup milk (I used nonfat dry instant milk reconstituted)

1/2 cup melted butter

1 teaspoon vanilla

Mix ingredients until they are combined well with no lumps.  I put about 2/3 cup batter in my waffle iron, but not all waffle irons are the same. 

This recipe makes about 4 large waffles.  Oooh soo good!!!

After breakfast, I got started on finishing up (as much as I could) my charm pack quilt.  The pattern I used I found online, and it is nine 5 inch squares sewn into a 9 patch square:

I modified the pattern I found online because I needed 10 larger 9 patch squares, and didn’t have enough of the charm pack fabric from Benerdex.  I added a neutral fabric from my Moda Neutral charm pack.  Once you have the 9 squares sewn together, cut the big square in half, both ways to create 4 squares, approximately 7 x 7 inches squares. 

Once you have all your 7 inch squares cut, you are ready to sew into rows and then create the quilt top. 

Here is the quilt top partially finished.  It is 5 blocks across by 8 blocks long.  It isn’t big enough, in my opinion for a throw quilt.  I plan on adding sashing on all sides in a neutral color (which will probably be the same as the backing and binding).  It was such an easy and fast project.  And I love it, I love the color and pattern and the fabric. 

I am heading out-of-town for vacation to my Mom and Dad’s for the holiday, so I am sure that I will have some great photos and posts to share.  My Mom said that she thinks we are going to be canning jelly this week.  Also, tonight, I am going to put together my list of works in progress (WIP) that I WILL finish for July!  I will be sure to post that list and the progress.

Lastly….I am expecting any day in the mail the fabrics I ordered from The Fabric Shoppe on Etsy.  I have 2 nieces that are pregnant, one is due in November and one is due in January.  I am so excited to get started on their quilts.  Baby #1 has a shower at the beginning of August, so I MUST get his quilt done by then. 

Enjoy your week! 

 

One thought on “A little of this, a little of that….

  1. Pingback: Sewing Saturday! | Simply Delighting

Leave a Reply

