Pot Roast Remix

Most of what you will see on this blog I learned from my Mom (more on her someday).  One of the greatest lessons I learned from her was how to create brand new meals with leftovers.  She can seriously make an incredible meal out of leftovers.  While she’d never call it “remix” (she probably doesn’t even know what that means in today’s terms), I, of course, have to add my flava to it. 

So…here is Pot Roast Remix, using yesterday’s leftover pot roast that I made in the crock pot.  Enjoy!

I used my awesome kitchen shears (see favorites list) to cut up the leftover pot roast into bite size pieces.  If you don’t have kitchen shears, you could use a knife or shred the beef.  I put the meat in a microwave safe bowl and heated it for about 3-4 minutes on high in the microwave.

I also used my kitchen shears to cut up romaine lettuce and grape tomatoes.  Normally, I would use iceberg lettuce and vine ripe tomatoes, but I didn’t have any on hand. 

The best part, in my opinion, is the shell.  I like all kinds, hard taco, flour and corn tortillas.  Today, I decided to use corn tortillas.  I keep my corn tortillas in the freezer and take out a few as I need them.  They keep for a long time in the freezer.  However, I do not like my corn tortillas raw, so I will fry mine in some canola oil just into they are cooked to the chewy stage (I made that up).  

In a non stick skillet, put enough oil to cover the pan.  Heat on medium high until oil is hot enough that when you put the tortilla in the oil, it sizzles…making that hot oil hissing noise. 

The trick to getting the tortilla to the chewy stage is how long it fries in the oil.  If you leave it in the oil too long, the tortilla will get hard, like a corn tortilla chip.  The tortilla will develop air pockets and as you flip it in the oil, you will be able to tell if it’s still flexible.

When the tortilla is at the desired doneness, drain it on paper towels to eliminate the excess oil. 

To assemble my tacos, I took a cooled corn tortilla, added some warmed leftover pot roast, some shredded mexican blend cheese, romaine lettuce, tomatoes, and medium salsa. 

Delicious!!! 

 

 

Leave a Reply

