Easy Pot Roast

This is an easy, quick dinner that can be put in the crock pot.  It doesn’t need a lot of babysitting–allowing for other projects (or a nap)!

I purchased a top sirloin roast from my local meat market; it was about 2 1/2 lbs.  When I got home, I cut the roast in half with my kitchen shears to create two meals (I cook for one person most of the time).  I put the frozen roast, right out of the freezer into the crock pot, added a packet of dry onion soup mix, pepper and a pinch of salt (not a lot because the onion mix can be salty) and about 1 cup of water.  It cooked on high for about 3 hours.

This is what it looked like after 3 hours.

I added 4 potatoes…I leave the skin on and just cut them in big hunks.

I also added baby carrots and about 6 or 7 button mushrooms that I quartered.

Add the potatoes, carrots and mushrooms and cook on high for about 60-90 minutes.

Yum!

Potatoes, carrots and mushrooms…more yum!

Another bonus is 2 cups of beef broth that can be frozen and used for a future meal!

 

One thought on “Easy Pot Roast

  1. Mmmmm, this looks good. I’ve made roast before (a major feat for this guy), but yours sounds easier. Could you please blog when you end up using that broth? I have absolutely no clue what to do with that stuff. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

